Principles of Shape

Principles of Shape

REDKEN BUSINESS CONNECTION PROGRAMS

Understanding the principles of shape helps you create the specific looks your clients request. They’re easy to duplicate once you can break shapes down to their simplest elements.



POINT

A point occupies space and represents a change in direction.


A line is a continuation of a series of connecting points that move in a specific direction. There are two types of lines: straight and curved. Straight lines create a hard edge; curved lines create a softer edge.



ANGLE

The joining or intersection of two lines forms an angle. An angle is a change in direction of two lines that intersect. A degree is the measurement of angles as they move apart from each other.



SHAPE

To create a shape, you must enclose an angle. An angle cannot be a shape until it’s fully enclosed.



HEAD FORM

The head form is the first line of the angle. You create the second line of the angle when you pick up a piece of hair. The imaginary line created by the cutting edge encloses the angle, making a shape. Until you physically cut the hair, you have not created a new shape.


HORIZONTAL LINES

A horizontal line builds weight into a shape and creates a sense of width. In hair design, horizontal shapes are symmetrical—if you measured distances horizontally within the shape, they would be the same. Horizontal lines form a 90 degree angle to vertical lines.


VERTICAL LINES

Vertical lines lead the path of the eye up and down, and reduce weight in the shape. This creates an illusion of length. Vertical lines give a sense of length to a shape and create a flatter silhouette. Vertical lines form a 90 degree angle to horizontal lines.


DIAGONAL LINES 

Diagonal lines bevel or round out the shape. A beveled edge on a mirror means that the corner is cut to round off the appearance. Cutting a diagonal line into a shape yields a rounded result. Diagonal lines form a 45 degree angle to both horizontal and vertical lines. You can apply your knowledge of line and shape to a haircut to achieve different looks. If you take a classic hairstyle like the Wedge and cut it using horizontal sections, you create weight in the hairstyle. If you created the Wedge using vertical sections instead of horizontal sections, you create a look that’s flatter and closer to the head. Diagonal sections would create a more rounded or beveled result.

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.

Le principe de la forme

Principles of Shape

PROGRAMME DE RELATIONS COMMERCIALES REDKEN

Comprendre les principes de la forme vous aide à créer les looks précis que les clients vous demandent. Ils sont faciles à recréer une fois que vous pouvez décomposer les formes en leurs éléments les plus simples.



POINT

Un point occupe l'espace et représente un changement de direction.


Une ligne est le prolongement d'une série de points de connexion qui se déplacent dans une direction précise. Il y a deux types de lignes : droites et courbées. Les lignes droites créent un bord sévère. Les lignes courbées créent un bord plus délicat.



ANGLE

La jonction ou l'intersection de deux lignes forme un angle. Un angle est un changement de direction de deux lignes qui se croisent. Un degré est la mesure des angles lorsqu'ils s'éloignent les uns des autres.



FORME

Pour créer une forme, vous devez fermer un angle. Un angle ne peut pas être une forme tant qu'il n'est pas fermé.



FORME DE LA TÊTE

La forme de la tête est la première ligne de l'angle. Vous créez la deuxième ligne de l'angle lorsque vous prenez une mèche de cheveux. La ligne imaginaire créée par le bord de la coupe ferme l'angle, créant une forme. Tant que vous n'avez pas coupé physiquement les cheveux, vous n'avez pas créé une nouvelle forme.


LIGNES HORIZONTALES

Une ligne horizontale crée un poids dans une forme et crée une impression de largeur. En coiffure, les formes horizontales sont symétriques. Si vous mesuriez des distances horizontalement au sein de la forme, elles seraient les mêmes. Les lignes horizontales forment un angle de 90 degrés par rapport aux lignes verticales.


LIGNES VERTICALES

Les lignes verticales conduisent l'œil de haut en bas et réduisent le poids dans la forme. Cela crée une illusion de longueur. Les lignes verticales donnent une impression de longueur à une forme et créent une silhouette flatteuse. Les lignes verticales forment un angle de 90 degrés par rapport aux lignes horizontales.


LIGNES DIAGONALES 

Les lignes diagonales biseautent ou arrondissent la forme. Le bord biseauté d'un miroir signifie que le coin est coupé afin d'en arrondir l'apparence. Couper une ligne diagonale dans une forme produit un résultat arrondi. Les lignes diagonales forment un angle de 45 degrés par rapport aux lignes horizontales, ainsi qu'aux lignes verticales. Vous pouvez appliquer vos connaissances des lignes et des formes à une coupe de cheveux afin d'obtenir différents looks. Si vous prenez une coiffure classique comme la coupe en biseau et que vous la coupez en utilisant des sections horizontales, vous créez du poids dans la coiffure. Si vous créez la coupe en biseau en utilisant des sections verticales au lieu de sections horizontales, vous créez un look qui est plus plat et plus près de la tête. Les sections diagonales créeraient un résultat plus arrondi ou biseauté.

Les cookies de navigation nous permettent d’améliorer votre expérience sur ce site.

En navigant notre site web, vous acceptez notre politique d’utilisation des cookies.